What If I Stumble – Psalm 37:23-24

Psalm 37:23-24 -The Lord makes firm the steps of the one who delights in him; though he may stumble, he will not fall, for the Lord upholds him with his hand.

Ugh, Thanksgiving is over. If you are like me you feel like a stuffed turkey. I made the plans, cooked had alternative foods with less fat and calories, and prepared myself mentally. But all that went out the window. And now we have even more leftovers that I feel obligated to eat.

I stumbled in my weight loss journey. It’s not the first time. It probably will not be the last time. But it is not failure.

I could sit here and feel guilty and sorry for myself. I could give in and quit trying. I could sit in the depths of meat sweats and sugar rushes but that wouldn’t do anything but make the situation worse.

I need to forgive myself for getting off track and start fresh. But how do you do that when motivation is at an all-time low?

Here are 15 ways to get your weight loss efforts back on track:
1. Look at web pages to get motivated. If your look at this blog you are on the right track. There are plenty of sights sharing how others overcome similar struggles and obstacles. Looking at these can be a great source of motivation.
2. Craft ideas: Create a motivational collage. Include pictures of your goal and reasons why you want to get there.
3. Eat a healthy breakfast. Your morning meal sets the stage for the rest of your day, so start if off right!
4. “Play exercise” is a good way to get a workout. Go play football, basketball, or other activities.
5. Do a short workout or exercise routine. Even five minutes is better than nothing.
6. Write down what you eat today. Use a tracker program or just write on a paper. No matter how it adds up, you’ll learn from it.
7. Share your goals. Mutual accountability goes a long way toward your goal. Getting support from friends can also give you some fresh ideas. insight and encouragement.
8. Take a walk. Don’t worry about how long or far you go—just get out there!
9. Try a new recipe. Cooking healthy foods can be fun and it never has to be bland.
10. Go shopping for some healthy foods or exercise videos.
11. Make informed choices! Look at the labels and add up what you are eating before you eat it!
12. Take a leisurely ride on your bike. It has benefits for your body and mind.
13. Working in the yard, raking leaves, and putting up Christmas lights all help burn calories, make your place look good, and help you have a healthy, happy attitude.
14. Take the stairs instead of the elevator. Even if this is the only thing you do all day, you’ll feel stronger for it.
15. Listen to an inspirational song. Music is a great way to put yourself back on track.
The idea is not to beat yourself up when you fail but to get right back in the game again. Failure is not falling once, or twice, or even over and over again. Failure is the lack of desire to get back up and try again!

Dear God Almighty, You hold my hand and keep me from falling flat on my face. I praise your name for that. I fear failing in my spiritual walk and in my weight loss journey. Help me to never give up. Thanks for being there with me and giving me your strength and power. In the name of Jesus I pray, Amen.

What If I Stumble (DC TALK)

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today is Christians
Who acknowledge Jesus with their lips, then walk out the door
And deny Him by their lifestyle
That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable

What if I stumble? What if I fall?

Is this one for the people? Is this one for the Lord?
Or do I simply serenade for things I must afford?
You can jumble them together
My conflict still remains, holiness is calling
In the midst of courting fame

‘Cause I see the trust in their eyes
Though the sky is falling
They need your love in their lives
Compromise is calling

What if I stumble? What if I fall?
What if I lose my step and I make fools of us all?
Will the love continue when my walk becomes a crawl?
What if I stumble? And what if I fall?

What if I stumble? What if I fall?
You never turn in the heat of it all
What if I stumble? What if I fall?

Father please forgive me for I can not compose
The fear that lives within me
Or the rate at which it grows
If struggle has a purpose
On the narrow road you’ve carved
Why do I dread my trespasses will leave a deadly scar?

Do they see the fear in my eyes?
Are they so revealing?
This time I cannot disguise
All the doubt I’m feeling

What if I stumble? What if I fall?
What if I lose my step and I make fools of us all?
Will the love continue when my walk becomes a crawl?
What if I stumble? And what if I fall?

What if I stumble?
Everyone’s got to crawl when you know that
You’re up against a wall, it’s about to fall
Everyone’s got to crawl when you know that

Everyone’s got to crawl when you know that
You’re up against a wall, it’s about to fall
Everyone’s got to crawl when you know that

I hear you whispering my name
“My love for you will never change”

What if I stumble? What if I fall?
What if I lose my step and I make fools of us all?
Will the love continue when my walk becomes a crawl?
What if I stumble? And what if I?

What if I stumble? And what if I fall?
What if I lose my step and I make fools of us all?
Will the love continue when my walk becomes a crawl?
What if I stumble? And what if I fall?

What if I stumble, what if I fall?
You never turn in the heat of it all
What if I stumble, what if I fall?
You are my comfort, and my God

Is this one for the people?
Is this one for the Lord?

Songwriters
DANIEL JOSEPH, TOBY MCKEEHAN

This entry was posted in Fear / Uncertainty, Guilt, Perseverance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment