I AM DECLARING MY INDEPENDENCE!

potato-salad.jpg

Blessed is the nation whose God is the Lord, the people he chose for his inheritance.
-Psalm 33:12 NIV

Let me wish you all a happy Independence Day! It is great that we live in a country where we are free. Free to live. Free to love. Free to go to church. Free to speak. Free to own, read, and carry our Bibles. Free to celebrate with explosive fireworks. Free to own a gun. Free to vote for who we want to have represent us.

Freedom has it’s responsibilities that is for sure. We want to use our freedom wisely and cautiously. We don’t want to lose our freedom by doing something stupid. I am grateful to the men and women who fought and to those who died for my freedom. I am blessed by God to live in such a country.

Our greatest freedom was given to us in Christ Jesus. Romans 6:20-23 says, When you were slaves to sin, you were free from the control of righteousness. What benefit did you reap at that time from the things you are now ashamed of? Those things result in death! But now that you have been set free from sin and have become slaves of God, the benefit you reap leads to holiness, and the result is eternal life.  For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” I thank God for my freedom in Christ that leads to eternal life.

Most of us will celebrate our freedom today by eating. There will be cook-outs, picnics, eating out, special meals with family and friends, and more. Hot dogs, fried chicken, watermelon, and corn-on-the-cob are just a few of the 4th of July fare. And, oh, the incredible deserts that will be served. Enjoy and celebrate this great day.

I have been a slave to my weight all my life. Part of my problem is that I suffer at times from depression. My eating is somewhat of a disorder that springs from depression. But today I am declaring my independence from my depression and over-eating.

I am asking God to help me. I would appreciate your prayers and encouragement too. Satan has away of trying to steal us back into slavery and addiction. And I don’t want that to happen again.

PRAYER THOUGHT: Oh Gracious Heavenly Father, What a wonderful day to remember that you have given us such freedom. I praise you for who you are and for what you have done for us. I thank you for the freedoms that you have given to me. I thank you for being able to live and enjoy my life. Do not allow me to let my freedom become a license to over indulge and to sin. Help me to declare my independence in Jesus Christ, my Lord and Savior. It is in the name of Jesus that I come to you with this request. AMEN.

 

This entry was posted in Commitment, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment