Don’t Feel Like It! – Proverbs 10:4

Proverbs 10: 4 –Lazy hands make for poverty, but diligent hands bring wealth.
I really didn’t want to get out of bed this morning. My wife is off visiting relatives with her father. I didn’t sleep well last night. I haven’t felt that well this week. The last thing I really wanted to do was go to Steppin’ Up, our weight loss accountability group that we have at our church.
At Steppin’ Up, we share in a devotion and encouraging words. We pray together and discuss our weight loss efforts. And then we walk or exercise together.
Another reason I didn’t really want to go was that I have been slipping a bit on the scales too. I wasn’t too worried about it because it was only a couple of pounds but… I have fallen into a routine of slacking at eating right and exercising and didn’t really want to deal with it…today…. someday maybe…soon.
But I drug myself out of bed, shaved, brushed my teeth and got ready. “If I can just get through this, ” I thought.
When I started over to the church, Terri was already there in the parking lot. She smiled and waved. We went in and got started. We shared the verse 1 Corinthians 10:13 and others. We talked about encouraging each other with our words… setting the tone.
Soon it was time to exercise. Because it was cold outside we decided to do a workout / aerobic walking video. Soon we were exercising and we walked 1… 2… 3 miles.
When we were done I felt tired, hot, thirsty, …and better. The endorphins kicked in helped my attitude and energy level. I feel like seizing the day.
I appreciate all my fellow “Stepper’s” for their support and encouragement. This spring we are going to try to expand our operation and do a bit more. But it is this encouragement and support that help us get through those lazy months of winter. I appreciate the encouragement that Terri gave me this morning.
The proverb above is true. Sometimes we all are tired and feeling lazy. But we need to get to work. Lazy hands lead to fat bellies and bad health. Diligent hands bring about blessings and a wealth of good things.
Dear God, Thank you for those in my group that help encourage me to lose weight and exercise. Thank you for sending people into my life that encourage me spiritually too. Help me to be diligent and productive today. In Jesus’ name, Amen.
“I like the word ‘indolence’. It makes my laziness seem classy.” –Bernard Williams

“If I don’t feel confident about my body, I’m not going to sit at home and feel sorry for myself and not do something about it. It’s all about taking action and not being lazy. So you do the work, whether it’s fitness or whatever. It’s about getting up, motivating yourself and just doing it.”

-Kim Kardashian (I can’t believe I am quoting a Kardashian! Oh well… even a stopped clock is right twice a day!!! LOL.)157555-o
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Exercise, Lazy / Work, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment