WOW, Gorgeous Sunrise – Habakkuk 3:3-4

Habakkuk 3:3-4 God came from Teman, the Holy One from Mount Paran.
His glory covered the heavens and his praise filled the earth.
His splendor was like the sunrise; rays flashed from his hand, where his power was hidden.

Sunrise at the church 10-31-2013

Sunrise at the church 10-31-2015

I moved to the mountains of North Carolina two years ago. Our first morning here we woke up to a beautiful snow. A few weeks later I was up early and at work in my office when the room began to glow. It was turning orange, red, and yellow from the most beautiful sunrise I had ever seen.

In the time I have been at BCCC I have never failed to be impressed with the rising of the sun, the snow, the sky, the mountains around. It makes my heart sing and praise God just as Habakkuk wrote, “His splendor was like the sunrise…”

God has given me the reminder of a beautiful sunrise in the morning. It sings out that God is good and that today is a gift. It makes me want to make the most of it.

Yes, it is a chilly 37 degrees outside. But I am ready to exercise. Our walking group meets at 9:00 a.m. and by then it may come up a smidgen on the thermometer. I hope we get a good group… the more the merrier! It’s going to be a beautiful day.

“Attitude determines altitude,” a wise person used to tell me. I sometimes get down and feeling sorry for myself. I was a moody teenager and sometimes laps back into it. A swift kick in the rear quarters was what my dad called, “an attitude adjustment.” And we all need one of those.

When I am down in the dumps I usually make poor decisions. Bad eating choices, poor financial decisions, and I fail terribly at avoiding temptations. So I need an attitude adjustment now and then. The sunrise is one way God helps me adjust my attitude.

What spectacular colors in this mornings sunrise. The picture doesn’t quite do it justice. But it was only here for a few minutes. And that’s all it took to get me going.

Dear God, Thanks for the beautiful sunrise. Thank you for glimpses of your majesty and splendor. Thanks for the attitude adjustments and the reminders that you are in control of the day. Thank you for your awesome beauty and the wonder of your  creation. I can’t wait to see you face to face on the other side of glory. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

“There is not one blade of grass, there is no color in this world that is not intended to make us rejoice.” ―John Calvin

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment