Where Are We Going Today? – Genesis 12:1-4

Genesis 12:1-4 – The Lord had said to Abram, “Go from your country, your people and your father’s household to the land I will show you.
“I will make you into a great nation,
and I will bless you;
I will make your name great,
and you will be a blessing.
I will bless those who bless you,
and whoever curses you I will curse;
and all peoples on earth
will be blessed through you.”
So Abram went, as the Lord had told him; and Lot went with him. Abram was seventy-five years old when he set out from Harran.

My grandson has always had a sense of adventure. Always moving, always doing something. He would go on bike rides with me. He liked to go for a run or walk. He was always ready when we would get in the car. “Where are we going today, Grandpa?”, he would say as I buckled his harness on the bike trailer. He was ready to go.

Although he is quite a bit older, I see that same sense of adventure in the seventy-five year old, Abram (Abraham). Although God told him to get up and leave his father’s house and his home country, there is no rebuttal, no excuses, not even a word. God doesn’t tell him where he is going but rather says “Go to the land I will show you.” And Abram goes.

There was no supernatural map given to Abraham. He did not have GPS or turn-by-turn navigation. He just trusted God to get him where He wanted Abram to go.

The journey takes years and the promise is not fulfilled even when Abraham dies. But oh what a journey that was! Many adventures were had. There were times when he laughed and times when he cried. There must have been times when he felt alone but God was with him every step of the way. There were times when God asked him to do things that seemed impossible. There were celebrations and there were good times. There was also trouble on the way but God always saw them through it. And in spite of everything, God blessed Abram even when he made mistakes. God even changed his name. Oh what a journey that was!

I believe that is how it is when we live by faith in God and trust in Jesus for getting us through the tough things. As we walk with the Lord we should be saying, “Where are we going today, Lord?” We need to let God show us. We need a faith that will take us every step of our spiritual journey with Him.

As I walk this path on my weight loss journey I also feel the sense of adventure. Last night we held our first meeting at church planning for our accountablitiy group for weight loss and exercise called “Steppin’ Up”. It felt good to hear different people share where they are in their weight loss journey and their desires for encouragement and accountability as they continue going. I don’t know where this will go but I am looking forward to the trip.

I woke up today with a sense of adventure. I am not exactly sure what will happen today. But I am anxious to see what God is going to do today and where he is going to lead me. “Where are we going today, Lord?”

Prayer Thought: Dear, Lord. You have made this body of mine. The Psalmist reminds me that I am “fearfully and wonderfully made.” But when I look at this body I am distressed at what I have made of it. Where are we going today, Lord. Show me how to glorify your name with every step I take on this journey. Bless me in spite of my mistakes and lead me in the path of righteousness for your name’s sake. Thank you, God almighty, for all the blessings you give us. I pray this prayer in the name of Jesus Christ, my Lord and my Savior, Amen.

“Know the true value of time; snatch, seize, and enjoy every moment of it. No idleness, no laziness, no procrastination: never put off till tomorrow what you can do today.” -Philip Stanhope, 4th Earl of Chesterfield

“Sometimes it’s the journey that teaches you a lot about your destination.”
Drake

This entry was posted in Encouragement, Motivation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment